Growin’ Up – a blog about life after Smith by Lauren Kaelin ’10 Leisure time

July 1, 2010

When I went to Smith I never really thought about how I spent my leisure time. Sometimes, especially during my senior year, I felt like every hour of my day was scheduled. Maybe this is hyperbole, but whatever, I never thought about it. I stopped really watching TV,  except maybe HGTV or the Food Network, the occasion Bravo reality drama. But I never really tuned in for anything. I didn’t read novels that weren’t assigned, or like, knit…

I’m trying to think of other leisure activities…?

Anyway, it’s July today, over a month into this whole REAL WORLD thing and I’m suddenly very conscious of this “free time” label.

Maybe it’s because there is such a sharp divide. I work from 8:30 to 5pm. When I come home, it’s free time. There is no homework. I am living with one of my best friends from school, who also works at the museum in Toledo. We’re house sitting in this fancy and kind of scary house with stained-glass window motifs, stiff leather couches, and shitty patio furniture. I don’t think a pet has ever seen the inside of this house. The only TV is a perfect black cube from the early 90’s and it’s wheeled around on a eye-level-from-bed cart. There are only three channels and of those three, two are blurry. The internet is like this:

Okay, that is hyperbole.

But, ok– so what do I do?

Tonight I baked scones. I’m reading all those Stieg Larsson books and listening to archives of This American Life.

I wish.

Leave a Reply

