Growin’ Up – a blog about life after Smith by Lauren Kaelin ’10 : Pet peeves, in the interest of full disclosure

July 17, 2010

Limp handshakes.

When you try to open the car door as it’s being unlocked.

Really bad knives. What is the point in purchasing a sub-par knife? People that have buy knives also seem to have A LOT of them. Dozens of terrible, mildly serrated knives.

When acquaintances over share to the question “how are you”.

Not refilling the Brita. I don’t even believe the Brita really does anything, but I like it filled and put back in the fridge. Also– ice trays.

When people sing along quietly, like whisper to the song right behind your front seat in the car.

I think I started thinking about these things because I’ve been watching old episodes of  Seinfeld. The show about nothing. Nothing, except how crazy people are. And maybe how crazy I am for being so neurotic about ice trays.

Is it just me — or do the last few measures of the Seinfeld theme sound like the chorus of “My Prerogative.”

3 Responses to “Growin’ Up – a blog about life after Smith by Lauren Kaelin ’10 : Pet peeves, in the interest of full disclosure”

  1. Mandy Anne said

    When I was six, I used to watch Seinfeld with my parents all the time. One day, I tell them that they really should make an episode where George gets into a fight with somebody at the diner over the back of the booth where you rest your arm. How do you designate that space anyway? It’s in between the two booths, it’s communal space, but isn’t it rude to take up more than your fair share? Can’t you see it?

  2. Mandy Lineweber said

    oh, summer in northampton is lovely and bizarre as usual. I’m so ready for senior year. it seems like you’re having a good time in Toledo!

Leave a Reply

