Growin’ Up – a blog about life after Smith by Lauren Kaelin ’10 : Pictures, with Additions

August 19, 2010

Edited:

Okay, now that I have internet access, maybe I’ll explain the context of these pictures a little more.

I work in an art museum so I look at pictures all day– big pictures, reproductions of pictures, thumbnails of pictures. I keep coming back to these pictures.

 

 

1. Daniel Clowes’ “The Boomerang Generation” a New Yorker cover from a few months ago. And this NYTimes Magazine article full of statistics that predict the age I’ll accomplish all I’m supposed to accomplish. 

“One-third of people in their 20s move to a new residence every year. Forty percent move back home with their parents at least once. They go through an average of seven jobs in their 20s, more job changes than in any other stretch. Two-thirds spend at least some time living with a romantic partner without being married. And marriage occurs later than ever. The median age at first marriage in the early 1970s, when the baby boomers were young, was 21 for women and 23 for men; by 2009 it had climbed to 26 for women and 28 for men, five years in a little more than a generation.”

2. Louise Bourgeois’ I Do for Freedom to Marry campaign. 

“Everyone should have the right to marry. To make a commitment to love someone forever is a beautiful thing.”

3. Camille Pissarro’s Still Life from the Toledo Museum of Art. One of my projects I’m working on at TMA is developing a guided tour of the collection through staff and curator favorites. I record interviews with the people at the museum in front of their favorite work of art as they respond to the question– why? 

It’s interesting because many of these people have worked in this museum for years, decades even– and whether it be as a utility worker or director there is something really special about having someone stand in front of something they really like and have maybe even have studied for years– and explain why.

The Pissarro (above) is my supervisor’s favorite. He is the curator of European and American Art before 1900– nearly half the collection of TMA. 

He said that looks at this painting more than any other– “it is never disappointing.” He paraphrased Marcel Duchamp, who said that a work of art is only complete when a person looks at it. “This painting is about change in me; it’s about change in all of us as we look at something over and over. One year later. Eighteen years later.” 

4. Norman Rockwell’s Freedom of Worship and this.

And this

5. Still from  Sesame Street’s “Don’t Eat the Pictures.” There is an upcoming Egypt Experience exhibition opening at TMA and every day I’m reminded of this movie I watched when I was little– a VHS that my mom probably bought at the A&P for $5. Trapped in limbo/ the MET with Big Bird:

6. “More interesting work with moderate pay? Or uninteresting work…?”

This picture popped up when I was searching the TMA Luna database.

 

 

Leave a Reply

