Growin’ Up – a blog about life after Smith by Lauren Kaelin ’10 : This day last year.

August 23, 2010

My dad schedules his whole life using this Microsoft program called Outlook. He enters in every event/task he must accomplish and reminders pop up on his computer screen probably every twenty minutes. Take vitamin. Attend wedding.

And he saves every one.

At this point he has amassed a saved chronicle of the events of the past five or six years. He’ll send me emails every so often where the subject line is just one of these reminders. Like,

June 22, 2006 – Lauren’s Montclair High School Graduation

8/14/09 – Lauren and Henry from Reno to Newark – 9:40 AM – 7:57 PM, via PHX

Today I got this one:

8/23/2009 – Lauren to Smith for Senior Year / Morrow House President

And I guess I’m feeling a bit nostalgic. This time last year, my dad drove me up to Smith for the last time and took a picture of me sitting on the window sill overlooking the Quad. He left me in my room full of sheets, sweaters, extension cords and he said, “I’m proud of you, Muffin.”

I remember it very well.

One Response to “Growin’ Up – a blog about life after Smith by Lauren Kaelin ’10 : This day last year.”

  1. kk said

    that is so papa kaelin…

Leave a Reply

